How Henry the hawk helped me understand “awareness”

hawk full on copy

Perhaps I am obsessive and compulsive.  Every time I go outside and every time I drive along our country road, my video camera is on the passenger seat, turned on, but not recording, just in case I see something I want to blog about later.

Hawk curved copy

But, I look at it more as being ready, and living in the here and now.

“Be ready anytime, any place, for anything,” Great Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim teaches.

Hawk overhead copy

See how good it was I had the camera with me today?  I hadn’t gone more than maybe 20 steps out of the house when I heard the tell-tale swoosh pretty much right overhead.

All I had to do was find Henry in my viewfinder, and videotape him. This isn’t as easy as it sounds, but with practice it works!

hawk flat in air copy

This experience reminded me of Great Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim‘s wise words:

“True awareness means being right where you are, right now, without fear or worry or obsession about the future or past.  when you manage to do that, a wonderful thing happens. Focused here, now, you become undistracted.  You find yourself becoming mentally quiet.  And when that happens, you “hear your Silent Master, your inner voice, quite clearly.  you perceive all around you quite clearly.  You find yourself knowing what to do – now, ten minutes from now, or tomorrow.  As a result, you consistently find yourself in the right place at the right time.” (Seven Steps To Inner Power page 54).

Hawk x-wing fighter copy

Explore posts in the same categories: Birds, Hawks, Jung SuWon, Tae Kwon Do, Tae Yun Kim, Wildlife

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

